CTA Names Members of Citizens Advisory Board

June 16, 2023

Diverse mix of community and business leaders, transit advocates and frequent riders will advise CTA Board

The Chicago Transit Board today announced members of the CTA’s Citizen’s Advisory Board (CAB), which advises CTA on issues, services and policies related to meeting the transportation needs of the region’s customers.

The CAB comprises 11 members chosen from the CTA service area, which includes Chicago and 35 surrounding suburbs.

Established by the Illinois General Assembly in 1983, the board is designated and functions as an advisory body. Its feedback and recommendations help inform CTA policies related to service, customer experience and all other facets of transit operations.

“The Citizens Advisory Board is a vital link between the CTA and its customers," said Chicago Transit Board Chairman Lester Barclay, who was the former chairman of the CAB before being appointed as Board President. “We were very excited to see the level of interest in serving on this important advisory board, and myself and the rest of the CTA Board look forward to hearing this group’s thoughts, ideas, and feedback, both positive and negative.”

“We value feedback from our customers, and use that feedback to help improve service,” said CTA President Dorval R. Carter, Jr. “The Citizen’s Advisory Board will be a great compliment to the many customer-feedback channels we already have in place.”

More than 100 individuals applied for the Board. The members were chosen to ensure diverse representation from across the CTA service area, and includes representatives of community organizations, commercial and business groups, seniors and others. The Board also includes three non-voting student members. Members serve a two-year term.

The CAB meets quarterly at CTA headquarters, 567 West Lake Street. Meeting dates and minutes will be posted at transtichicago.com

Citizens Advisory Board Members

  • Robert Castaneda - Executive Director of non-profit organization Beyond the Ball. Also serves on the Little Village Violence Prevention Collaborative, Little Village Public Spaces Committee and the Lawndale Christian Health Center board.
  • Peter Henderson - Motivate / Divvy Bikes employee. Transit enthusiast.
  • Robert Johnson – Director of Civic Engagement at BOMA Chicago.
  • Ryan McCray – Daily rider. Member of Urban Environmentalists, Active Transportation Alliance and Erie Neighborhood House Associate Board.
  • Caroline Pavlecic – Member of Commuters Take Action . Regular rider.
  • Tracy Powell – Small-business owner, Momentum Coffee (3 locations are near the Green Line).
  • Katanya Raby – Urban Planner, VP at Far South Community Development Corporation. Board member of Center for Neighborhood Technology and the American Planning Association.
  • Sonia Del Real – Frequent CTA rider. Board service for various non-profit and public policy organizations.
  • Kirby Scott – Retired business consultant. Extensive board service for various organizations (Chair of North Side Housing and Supportive Services, Board member of Metropolitan Club, board member of Broadway United Methodist Church).
  • Danielle Stanley – Government affairs at Partnership for College Completion. Frequent CTA rider. Member of Neighborhood Housing Services Metro Board.

Student Representatives

  • Emmanuel Garcia – Student at Muchin College Prep. Daily CTA commuter. Volunteers with Northwest Center.
  • Ryan Parnell – Medical Student at UIC School of Medicine. CTA is primary mode of transportation.
  • Aiden Keefe - Graduating senior at Jones Commercial High School. Incoming freshman at Northwestern University in the fall. Daily CTA commuter.

# # #


Back to news