The 'L'

Chicago Transit Board

About the Chicago Transit Board

The governing arm of the CTA is the Chicago Transit Board. The Board consists of seven members, with four appointed by the Mayor of Chicago and three appointed by the Governor of Illinois. 

The Mayor's appointees are subject to the approval of the Governor and the Chicago City Council; the Governor's appointees are subject to the approval of the Mayor and the Illinois State Senate. CTA's day-to-day operations are directed by Dorval R. Carter, Jr., President.

The current Mayoral appointees are Lester L. Barclay, Alejandro Silva, Kevin Irvine and Rev. Johnny L. Miller. The current gubernatorial appointee is Rev. Dr. L. Bernard Jakes. There are two gubernatorial vacancies.

Lester L. Barclay serves as Chairman of the Chicago Transit Board.

Board Meetings

The Chicago Transit Board meets monthly. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and restrictions on public gatherings, the Board meetings are currently taking place virtually. The meetings are live streamed and can be accessed at

Board meetings usually take place at 10:00 am and are usually preceded by committee meetings. (See detailed calendar below.)

The separate committees include Human Resources, Strategic Planning, Capital Construction Oversight, and the Finance, Audit & Budget Committee.

For complete meeting notices, agendas, an exact schedule of committee meetings and special meetings see Meeting Notices, Agendas and Minutes as meeting dates approach or call (312) 681-5022.

information:  AccessibleThese facilities are accessible to people with disabilities.

Regular Chicago Transit Board Meeting dates

Regular board meetings for the year 2021 are scheduled on the following dates:

*Per Resolution R020-2

Also, see Meeting Notices, Agendas & Minutes for additional details.

Public comment at Board Meetings

The public is welcome to make comments at public meetings, including meetings of the Chicago Transit Board. To make comments, you'll need to follow our comment process (including filling out a short form before the meeting). See this information to learn more about our Public Comment Process.

Live streaming of board meetings

You can watch board meetings online as they are happening or review video from prior meetings on our Board Video page.

Reaching the Board

Direct correspondence for the Chicago Transit Board or its members to:

Office of the Secretary
CTA Headquarters
567 W. Lake Street
Chicago, IL 60661

Tel: 1-312-681-5022
Fax: 1-312-681-5035

See also

System status snapshot
‘L’ route status
Red Line
Normal Service
Brown Line
Normal Service
Green Line
Normal Service
Orange Line
Normal Service
Pink Line
Normal Service
Purple Line
Normal Service
Yellow Line
Normal Service
Bus routes w/alerts
Elevator alerts