CTA Changes Existing Yellow Line Station Name, Announces Names of New Yellow, Green/Pink Stations

June 8, 2011
The Chicago Transit Board today authorized the renaming of the Skokie Yellow Line station and approved names for two stations currently under construction on the Yellow and Green/Pink lines.  
The Yellow Line’s Skokie station has been renamed the “Dempster-Skokie” station and the new station being built on the Yellow Line has been officially named the Oakton-Skokie station. The station on the Green/Pink lines will be named  the Morgan station.
“CTA rail stations are typically identified by the nearest cross street to accurately describe the location of the station,” said CTA President Forrest Claypool. “The names announced today are in line with those guidelines to make it easy for riders to navigate the system.”

CTA and the Village of Skokie are partnering on the construction of a new, at-grade, accessible Yellow Line station in Downtown Skokie at the intersection of Oakton Street and Skokie Boulevard. The station is scheduled to be completed by the end of the year.
The Village of Skokie requested that the CTA name the new station as the “Oakton-Skokie” station and change the name of the existing “Skokie” station to “Dempster-Skokie” to distinguish between the station locations. 
On the Green/Pink lines, the CTA and the Chicago Department of Transportation (CDOT) are building a new, accessible station at Morgan and Lake streets which is scheduled to be completed in 2012. 
Station signage, system maps, and announcements will be updated to reflect the changes when those projects are completed.
Costs for creating station signs for the new Oakton-Skokie and Morgan stations are being funded by capital grants obtained to build the stations.
# # #
Back to news