January 18, 2000

The CTA Board Tuesday made permanent a modification of the former #129 North Western/Franklin bus route, which has been renamed the #129 West Loop/South Loop route. Rush period #129 buses connect Ogilvie Transportation Center (North Western Station) and Union Station with the South Loop area.

The experimental routing for #129 buses has been in effect for a year. The changes were made to serve the growing South Loop community, Union Station, which was not part of the original route, and because the previous route served the former Chicago Board of Education offices on West Pershing Road. The offices are now located downtown.

During morning rush periods, #129 buses stop southbound on Clinton at Washington and at Madison for Metra customers leaving the Ogilvie Center. After continuing south on Clinton, the buses turn east on Jackson, stopping at Canal for Union Station, and at Financial Place for the LaSalle Street Station.

The buses go east on Jackson and south via Michigan, Roosevelt and Indiana to 18th, returning downtown via State, Polk, Dearborn and Randolph to Clinton. Afternoon trips are via Indiana, Roosevelt, Michigan, Adams and Canal to Washington. #129 buses then return south via Washington, Clark, Polk, State and 18th to Indiana.

Back to news
System status snapshot
‘L’ route status
Red Line
Normal Service
Brown Line
Normal Service
Green Line
Normal Service
Orange Line
Normal Service
Pink Line
Normal Service
Purple Line
Normal Service
Yellow Line
Normal Service
Bus routes w/alerts
Elevator alerts