Chicago Transit Board Welcomes New Member

March 16, 2006

Henry T. Chandler, Jr. joined the Chicago Transit Board today for his first meeting since being appointed to the Board earlier this month by Mayor Richard M. Daley.

Chandler is Board Chair of Access Living of Metropolitan Chicago, a non-residential center dedicated to advocating on behalf of people with disabilities. The center works to ensure people with disabilities can live independent lives and have access to resources throughout their chosen communities. Access Living focuses its advocacy on housing, legal assistance, civil rights, education and youth development.

The Chicago Transit Board is the governing arm of the Chicago Transit Authority. It consists of seven members, four appointed by the Mayor and three appointed by the Governor. Chandler joins Chairman Carole L. Brown, Rev. Charles E. Robinson and Alejandro Silva as members appointed by Mayor Daley.

Members serving on the Board who were appointed by the Governor of Illinois are: Susan A. Leonis, who serves as vice-chair, Nicholas A. Zagotta and Cynthia A. Panayotovich.

The Mayor's appointees are subject to the approval of the Governor and the Chicago City Council; the Governor's appointees are subject to the approval of the Mayor and the Illinois State Senate.

The Board today approved Chandler's Board salary of $25,000. His term expires September 2007.

# # #
Back to news
System status snapshot
‘L’ route status
Red Line
Normal Service
Blue Line
Normal Service
Brown Line
Normal Service
Pink Line
Normal Service
Purple Line
Normal Service
Yellow Line
Normal Service
Bus routes w/alerts
Elevator alerts