ADA Advisory Committee

Purpose and Responsibilities

The ADA Advisory Committee was established by the authority of Chicago Transit Board. It serves in an advisory capacity to the CTA. Its purpose is to provide the CTA with recommendations on the CTA’s compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), facilitate a dialogue between the CTA and the disability community, and increase the use of the CTA’s services by people with disabilities.

The responsibilities of the Committee include:

  • To represent the interests of the diversity of people with disabilities 
  • To provide comment on CTA’s current services, policies and practices 
  • To provide informed input on the development and assessment of future CTA projects and services that impact people with disabilities



The Committee has up to 12 members. They are chosen from qualified applicants by the Chair of the Chicago Transit Board, based their ability to represent a cross section of the community of people with disabilities in the Chicago metropolitan area.

Current Committee members are:

  • Pierre Bance, Disability Advocate
  • Rhychell Barnes, Progress Center for Independent Living
  • Tim Fischer, Neumann Family Services
  • Steve Hastalis, (Chair) Disability Advocate
  • Grace Kaminkowitz, Disability Advocate
  • Laura Miller, Equip for Equality
  • Christina Mullins, Chicago Mayor’s Office for People With Disabilities
  • Dorrell Perry, Disability Advocate
  • Angela Reneau, Disability Advocate
  • Suzen Riley, Disability Advocate
  • Allen West, Chicago Park District Special Recreation Programs
  • Bryen Yunashko, Task Force on Deaf/Blind Transportation



Committee meetings are facilitated by the CTA’s ADA Compliance Officer, Amy Serpe. She can be reached at or (312) 681-2608.


Meeting Dates

The Committee meeting dates for 2014 are:

  • Monday, January 13
  • Monday, April 14
  • Monday, July 14
  • Tuesday, October 14


Meeting Times

The Committee meets quarterly on the second Monday of the quarter, unless there is a holiday. The meeting time is 1:30-3:30 p.m., which includes a 15 minute period for public comment. Check for meeting notices a few days in advance of meetings for additional information.


Meeting Location

Committee meetings open to the public. They are held at CTA headquarters, 567 W. Lake Street, Chicago, Illinois in the Boardroom, which is located on the second floor. The Boardroom can be accessed either by the stairs at the north end of the building lobby or by the elevator located near the stairs.

Plan a trip

Start (e.g. O'Hare Airport)

End (e.g. 1 N State St, Chicago, IL)

Leave Now
 Get directions with:

About trip planners (and more options)..

System Status



Red Line Planned Work
Blue Line Planned Work w/Station(s) Bypassed
Brown Line Normal Service
Green Line Normal Service
Orange Line Normal Service
Purple Line Normal Service
Pink Line Normal Service
Yellow Line Normal Service


Routes with Current Alerts (View All):
©2014 Chicago Transit Authority|Terms of Use|Privacy|Unsubscribe|Jobs|Contact Us|RSS|Social Media
international globe Languages [En] [Pl] [Zh] [Es]