WHEREAS, The Chicago Transit Board by Ordinance No. 89-88, and as thereafter amended, established a Code of Ethics for Chicago Transit Authority employees and officials; and

WHEREAS, Section 4 of the Code of Ethics provides for the establishment of an Ethics Committee composed of three (3) residents of the Chicago Transit Authority's service area, one of whom shall be an attorney licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois, whose purpose is to initiate and receive complaints of violations of the Code of Ethics, to investigate such complaints, and to conduct such other tasks as more fully set forth in Section 4 of the Code of Ethics; and

WHEREAS, Pursuant to Section 4.1(b) of the Code of Ethics, the terms of the Ethics Committee members are four (4) years, but staggered to avoid the expiration of more than one member's term in any single year; and

WHEREAS, Pursuant to Section 4.1(b) of the Code of Ethics, vacancies on the Ethics Committee are to be filled in the same manner that original appointments are made and for the unexpired term of the member whose place has become vacant; and

WHEREAS, One of the members of the Ethics Committee has resigned and the terms of the remaining two members previously appointed have expired; and

WHEREAS, The Transit Board desires to appoint one new member of the Ethics Committee and reappoint the remaining two members; now, therefore:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CHICAGO TRANSIT BOARD OF THE CHICAGO TRANSIT AUTHORITY:

SECTION 1. That the Chicago Transit Board hereby appoints the following persons to serve on the Ethics Committee:

a. Stephanie Cox-Batson for a term of four (4) years until the expiration of her unexpired term on December 12, 2014;

b. Hugh F. Halverstadt for a term of four (4) years until the expiration of his unexpired term on December 12, 2013;

c. Angela Thomas for a term of four (4) years until the expiration of the unexpired term of the former member, Stephen A. Schiller, on December 12, 2015.

ORDINANCE NO. 013-45 (Continued) -2

SECTION 2. This ordinance shall be in full force and effect from and after its passage.

APPROVED:

PASSED:

Chairman

Assistant Secretary

April 19, 2013

April 19, 2013